Elected Officials

Mayor Kedzierski_thumb
Mayor Ted Kedzierski


THADDEUS (Ted) J. KEDZIERSKI began serving as a Member of the City Council in April of 2009 and our Mayor in November of 2011. Ted is a Certified Public Accountant and Tax Attorney, married to Kathleen with whom he has two children and has been a Grosse Pointe Shores resident since 1995. His hobbies include swimming and water polo. tkedzierski@gpshoresmi.gov

6T9A0089-7
Donn Schroder is a retired general surgeon who has called Grosse Pointe  Shores home since 1991. He and his wife, Laura, have been blessed with over 40 years of marriage. Their daughter also resides in GPS with her husband and 3 children. Donn is thankful to have served on GPS City Council since June 2021. dschroder@gpshoresmi.gov

JDakmak_1
John D. Dakmak began serving as a member of City Council in November of 2021.  He is a practicing attorney at Clark Hill PLC.  Prior to entering private practice, John served as an assistant prosecuting attorney in Wayne County and as an assistant attorney general for the State of Michigan.  John and his wife, Penni, have two children.  John enjoys traveling, cooking and spending time with his family.   jdakmak@gpshoresmi.gov

Robert Barrette Jr
Robert H. Barrette, Jr.. began serving as a member of the City Council in November of 2011. Bob is retired from DTE Energy and is married to Martha. They have four adult children. rbarrette@gpshoresmi.gov

Gehlert
Danielle Gehlert began serving on city council in 2019. She is a dentist, practicing in St. Clair Shores. Danielle and her husband, Guy, have three children. 
She enjoys all water sports and downhill skiing.   She has been a Grosse Pointe Shores resident for 12 years. dgehlert@gpshoresmi.gov

seago
John Seago began serving as a member of City Council in November 2019. John is a practicing dentist and owner of Seago Family Dentistry. He is married to Renee and together they have five children and eight grandchildren and have resided in Grosse Pointe Shores since 1988. John enjoys sailing, running, boating and spending time with the family. jseago@gpshoresmi.gov

cavataio
Sandra Cavataio began serving as City Council Member in 2020. Sandra has worked for international Paper, Martin Marietta, General Motors and PHCN.  She currently works as a business consultant. She has 4 children and enjoys traveling and playing tennis. scavataio@gpshoresmi.gov